Background History

This University started as Faculty of Veterinary Medicine Under Rangoon University in 1957. In 1964, it was upgraded to Institute of Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science (IAHVS) in Insein, Rangoon. In 1981, IAHVS was moved to Yezin, Pyinmana. In 1994, IAHVS was transferred under the governance of Ministry of Livestock and Fisheries. Before 1997, the course was 6 years and changed to 5 years course in 1997. In 1999, the name of IAHVS was changed to University of Veterinary Science.

In 1992, Post-graduate study programmes such as Master and Doctor of Philosophy were started and continue until now. Since 2006, first year students were selected by entrance examination including written and viva. Until 2022, 6,926 graduates were produced. Degrees conferred are BASc, BVS, BVSc, DVM, Dip LPA, Dip. LIS, MPhil, MSc, MVM, MVSc and PhD.

The University of Veterinary Science comprises a Rector’s Office and 25 departments namely:

1Rector’s Office14Veterinary Teaching Hospital
2Department of Medicine15Livestock Demonstration Farms
3Department of Animal Science16Department of Myanmarsar
4Department of Surgery & Theriogenology17Department of English
5Department of Pharmacology & Parasitology18Department of Mathematics
6Department of Pathology & Microbiology19Department of Chemistry
7Department of Physiology & Biochemistry20Department of Physics
8Department of Anatomy21Department of Zoology
9Department of Animal Nutrition22Department of Botany
10Department of Genetics and Animal Breeding23Library
11Department of Public Health & Epidemiology24Department of Finance
12Department of Aquaculture & Aquatic Diseases25Department of Training Affairs
13Department of International Relations & IT26Department of Engineering